View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Topic : "MAC users can't see my site?" |
Lunatique member
Member # Joined: 27 Jan 2001 Posts: 3303 Location: Lincoln, California
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 5:04 pm |
|
|
I got this email:
"Hello,
Your site is very nice and you have a lot of talent.
I'm sending this mail because I have some problems to view your
images with my browser. (I'm using iCab on the Macintosh)
After having looked at the html code I think I've found the problem
that cause my browser to display empty popup window when clicking on
an image.
This is the html code of one of the popup windows:
What totally confuse my browser is the fact that the comment on line
2 is not properly closed. (with //--> )
You have probably not noticed it because other browsers are perhaps
more tolerant about this omission.
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
window.moveTo(0,0)
</script><html>
<head>
<title>Linda 1</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#000000" text="#000000">
<div align="center">
<p><img src="linda01.jpg" width="600" height="450"> </p>
<p>& </p>
</div>
</body>
</html>
Also I'm wondering if the opening comment should not be placed before
the script tag but I'm not sure about that.
So changing the code to that would make any browser happy :
<!--
<script language="JavaScript">
window.moveTo(0,0)
</script>
//--> <<<<<<------------------------- ADDING THIS LINE
<html>
<head>
<title>Linda 1</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#000000" text="#000000">
<div align="center">
<p><img src="linda01.jpg" width="600" height="450"> </p>
<p>& </p>
</div>
</body>
</html>
It would be very kind of you if you could add the end comment tag in
the html of the popup windows so it would work as intended.
In the hope this can be done.
Best regards
P.A.Buffo
Geneva
Switzerland"
So, all you MAC users are getting the same problem he is? |
|
Back to top |
|
francmidi member
Member # Joined: 25 Feb 2002 Posts: 107 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 12:03 am |
|
|
Yes - same problem (Mac OS 8.6 , IE 5.1) - sorry. Typing the adresses of the big pictures into the adressbar helps. Great work btw. _________________ *** Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature to help me spread! *** |
|
Back to top |
|
Lunatique member
Member # Joined: 27 Jan 2001 Posts: 3303 Location: Lincoln, California
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 1:06 am |
|
|
Ok, I'm confused as to what I'm supposed to do to fix things.
I know that some popups aren't working becaused I messed up directory linking when I moved the site to the new server, but there are a lot of pages that should be working.
Or, is the fact I'm using Javascript the problem? Is there a way to do popops so that all browsers can see my site? |
|
Back to top |
|
AndyT member
Member # Joined: 24 Mar 2002 Posts: 1545 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 2:26 am |
|
|
Why don't you open the pages in a new browser windows?
Normal links with target="_blank"?
Maybe I just don't get what it's about ... _________________ http://www.conceptworld.org |
|
Back to top |
|
Lunatique member
Member # Joined: 27 Jan 2001 Posts: 3303 Location: Lincoln, California
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 2:36 am |
|
|
So, you're saying that have the images open in a new browser window--without specifying the size, scrollbars..etc? |
|
Back to top |
|
Matthew member
Member # Joined: 05 Oct 2002 Posts: 3784 Location: I am out of here for good
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 3:36 am |
|
|
Lunatique - try something like this, I think it should work with Mac, maybe. This kind of script is used on Conceptart.
Thou I am more fund of when pictures opens in the Self window.
Hmm or maybe the problem is with the javascript for Explorer 5.1 versions, ok feel free to beat me up now.
javascript:window.open('Test.html','remote','toolbar=no,status=no,menubar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=yes,width=530,height=240, top=260, left=220').focus();
Matthew |
|
Back to top |
|
AndyT member
Member # Joined: 24 Mar 2002 Posts: 1545 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 4:18 am |
|
|
I guess I really just don't get it ...
because when I click an image it does appear in a new browser window.
Well I'm more into PHP ... so I'll just shut up now _________________ http://www.conceptworld.org |
|
Back to top |
|
francmidi member
Member # Joined: 25 Feb 2002 Posts: 107 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 4:23 am |
|
|
You may look into the source of my page ( http://francmidi-.port5.com/ ). The code is generated by Dreamweaver and works on my Mac and on PC. The only thing is, that the size of the popupwindows differs between the systems (heaven knows why). I will change over to a no-javascript version soon. _________________ *** Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature to help me spread! *** |
|
Back to top |
|
Lunatique member
Member # Joined: 27 Jan 2001 Posts: 3303 Location: Lincoln, California
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 5:26 pm |
|
|
I think it's all fixed now. If you guys still see problems, let me know. |
|
Back to top |
|
|